Every man dies, but not every man really lives

The quote is from the movie Braveheart and whether or not it was actually said by William Wallace while trying to inspire the Scots to battle the English is not really material to this blog. When I came across it I had a multitude of questions that wandered all over the lot and I still haven’t figures out why all the questions and why such a disparity among them. Some of the questions were 1) could a person who had not ‘lived’ even think to ask such a question; 2) can a person who has never ‘lived’ even conceive of something more than what they have experienced; 3) isn’t the quote more for our time, where the concept of an expanded self-awareness is in popular magazines and do-it-yourself books; is it a question of self-actualization or maybe only self-awareness (i.e. do I really have to do something more than just think it?); 4) what does the author mean by lives?; 5) is this just a paraphrase of the Christian gospel? Actually, there were and are more but that gives an idea of the range of thoughts/questions that went through my mind.

 

On its face the quote is very motivational, at least to me. How often have I dreaded the thought that someone close (and I will use my father as an example) will shortly before death have an epiphany that the life has been wasted or is far from complete? Many, many are the times that I wished for his death without him having this epiphany, without dying suffering from the thought his life was wasted or incomplete. (And, as far as I know, he never did have this epiphany.)

 

Or applying the same fear to my life is probably why the Robert Service Poem strikes such a cord in me.

There’s a race of men that don’t fit in,
A race that can’t stay still;
So they break the hearts of kith and kin,
And they roam the world at will.
They range the field and they rove the flood,
And they climb the mountain’s crest;
Theirs is the curse of the gypsy blood,
And they don’t know how to rest.

If they just went straight they might go far;
They are strong and brave and true;
But they’re always tired of the things that are,
And they want the strange and new.
They say: “Could I find my proper groove,
What a deep mark I would make!”
So they chop and change, and each fresh move
Is only a fresh mistake.

And each forgets, as he strips and runs
With a brilliant, fitful pace,
It’s the steady, quiet, plodding ones
Who win in the lifelong race.
And each forgets that his youth has fled,
Forgets that his prime is past,
Till he stands one day, with a hope that’s dead,
In the glare of the truth at last.

He has failed, he has failed; he has missed his chance;
He has just done things by half.
Life’s been a jolly good joke on him,
And now is the time to laugh.
Ha, ha! He is one of the Legion Lost;
He was never meant to win;
He’s a rolling stone, and it’s bred in the bone;
He’s a man who won’t fit in.

 

At least in my life I can say that in many, many ways I have lived. I have loved and been loved, I have been part of history (civil rights movement, etc.), wonderful children, I have experienced various mind states but most assuredly I have a very deep and strong believe in the reality of my relationship to God. Yet with all this there is still vibration of the chord that Mr. Service struck, the existential queasiness that wonders how I would answer William Wallace if he asked me if I had really lived.

 

So I stand between Mr. Service looking into my heart and saying ‘see you are really one of those people’ and Mr. Wallace looking me in the eye and asking ‘have you really, really lived’.

 

There will probably be more to this theme so feel free to comment and that will give me more to ramble about!

Published in: on September 10, 2007 at 1:25 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://franklyfrankwp.wordpress.com/2007/09/10/the-quote-is-from-the-movie-braveheart-and-whether-or-not-it-was-actually-said-by-william-wallace-while-trying-to-inspire-the-scots-to-battle-the-english-is-not-really-material-to-this-blog-when-i-ca/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think that every man or woman has both thoughts. I also believe that would be nearly impossible to truly have the moment of truth that one would realize a life miss-spent. Those two ideas that question our actions and decisions are forever in us. They are the thoughts that help us choose right from left. To imagine the alternative to the path we have chosen is akin to the logic that the Ontological argument for the existence of god is based on. How can we regret or recognize a life miss-spent when we can’t even conceive of it let alone conceive of it in the flash of an eye. If we could have conceived such a different a valued path everyone would choose it knowing the greater life satisfaction would be down that road.

    I chose the path that is living knowing that it is tempered by my fears and the recognition that “living” is subjective to sell a flower to see the ocean is not that to have lived. Yet for some it is the knowledge of math or bead of sweat that drips from your nose on a hot day in the garden. Who is Wallace or Gibson to know if it a man /woman has lived haven’t we all.

    Jimmymacb

  2. I think that first I need to reflect upon Jimmymacb’s thoughts but one first impression is that while he may (or probably is) correct about every one having such thoughts (his first sentence) I would strongly suspect the frequency and intensity of such thought vary widely. It would be an interesting contribution if one of his sisters would respond to this point.)

  3. UHHHH, could you repeat the question?

  4. To quote the famous “Forest Gump”…

    “My mama always said ‘Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are going to get.”

  5. Thig one and tig two bring up an interesting question. If you eat all the chocolates in the box would a person with one hand clapping be able to hear the question?

    To quote my sisters “huh” but when they say it it sounds so smert.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

